The ACT Minister for Education and Early Childhood announced that from Tuesday 24 March 2020 all ACT Public Schools will go pupil free until the school holidays, due to begin on Friday 10 April 2020.

ACT schools will remain open to students who need to attend. Schools will still be able to safely receive and provide learning for parents and carers engaged in essential services and unable to care for their children at home, as well as vulnerable children and those with additional needs. Essential service includes health workers, education workers, aged care workers and critical public service workers.

WCS will operate its Out of School Hours Care (OSHC) services in our schools as long as we can, as directed by the ACT Education Directorate.

Please feel free to continue accessing before and after school care services even if your child does not attend school. At this stage, our School Holiday programs will be running as previously advised.

To help support our families utilising OHSC, the WCS Board have approved the removal of fees for all booked sessions for any child who does not attend before and after school care during these last three (3) weeks of Term 1, 2020.

As of Tuesday 23 March 2020 when the pupil free days began, WCS will only charge fees for children who attend our services. We will also hold onto any current bookings into Term 2, 2020 unless you have already cancelled care.

If you contacted WCS enrolments team prior to 23 March 2020 to cancel your enrolment, please email our enrolments team at for further information. If your request to cancel was for a reason other than isolation, please contact the enrolments team.

WCS will continue to keep you informed as the situation changes. Please continue to contact our enrolment and childcare accounts team if you require any further information.

We recognise that families are concerned during this time of uncertainty. If we can provide any additional support to your family at this time, please let us know.

WCS Out of School Hours Care (OSHC) services are offered at:

Tuggeranong Region
  • Wanniassa School (Junior)
Woden Region
  • Curtin Primary School (P – Yr 6)
  • Duffy Primary School (P – Yr 6)
  • Garran Primary School (P -Yr 6)
  • Hughes Primary School (P – Yr 6)
  • Red Hill Primary School (P – Yr 6)
  • Torrens Primary School (K – Yr 6)
  • Lyons Early Childhood School (P – Yr 2)
Gungahlin Region
  • Margaret Hendry School Taylor (P – Yr 6)
Belconnen Region
  • Evatt Preschool and OSHC Program (P – Yr. 6)